History Lesson: Black Audio Film Collective

The first History Lesson at SUMMIT non-aligned initiatives in education culture featured a conversation between John Akomfrah and Kodwo Eshun. Black Audio Film Collective was founded at Portsmouth Polytechnic in 1982 by sociology, fine art and psychology students John Akomfrah, Reece Auguiste, Edward George, Lina Gopaul, Avril Johnson, Claire Joseph and Trevor Mathison. The group who later relocated to London produced some of the most influential films and videos of recent times before formerly dissolving in 1988. Despite its currency the group's work owes little to the present; it is singular, it inhabits a dimension of timely untimeliness.

kein.tv / summit.kein.org
English / 01:36:04 / 248 MB / Ogg Theora

Help with watching the video